Mobile Data Loss Prevention (DLP) Policies Overview

As a Company Manager, you can implement Data Loss Prevention (DLP) Policies for mobile devices to prevent company information and files with sensitive data from being lost, misused, or accessed by unauthorized users. 

You can manage your company's Data Loss Prevention (DLP) Policies on the DLP Policy page in Company Admin. Learn how to configure and manage Data Loss Prevention Policies for your company.

Learn more about Venn's DLP Policies for desktop computers.

Available DLP Policies for Mobile Devices

Policy Description Settings
Passcode Require a device passcode when the mobile app is installed.

Enabled: Requires a device to have a passcode enabled. For Apple devices, you will be required to set up an alphanumeric passcode with a minimum of 6 characters. For Android devices, you can specify the type of passcode required.

Disabled: Does not require a device to have a passcode enabled.

Network Secure the network path for managed apps.

Enabled: Users' network traffic from managed apps is encrypted and routed through the Private Company Gateway

Disabled: Network traffic is not routed through to the Private Company Gateway.

Copy and paste

Block the ability to copy-and-paste or drag-and-drop from managed apps to unmanaged.

This policy does not restrict the ability to copy/paste to move data into managed applications.

Enabled: Users cannot copy and paste to move data out of managed applications.

Disabled: Use of copy and paste is not restricted.

Files storage

Block the ability to move files from managed apps to unmanaged.

This policy does not restrict the ability to copy or move files to managed applications from other unmanaged locations.

Enabled: Users cannot move files outside of managed apps.

Disabled: Users can move files outside of managed apps.

Screen sharing and capture Block the ability to share, record, or screenshot managed app windows.

Enabled: Users cannot share or capture managed application windows. For Apple devices, screen capture is disabled for the entire device, including personal applications. 

Disabled: Users can share any application window.

Untrusted apps

Block the installation of apps from unknown sources.

This policy is only applicable on Android.

Enabled: Users cannot install untrusted apps (unknown source) on the entire device or just in the Work Profile.

Disabled: Does not restrict the installation of untrusted apps (unknown source).

Was this article helpful?